If you don’t understand how a woman could both love her sister dearly
and want to wring her neck at the same time,
then you were probably an only child.

[Linda Sunshine]

Easter

Louise Misegades (left), Katherine Misegades (right)

Easter always makes me think of this photo. Our mama made Easter into the most special of holidays. She supplied us with new hats and hand-sewn outfits. She even hand wove our Easter egg baskets. There in lies the backstory to this photo. Our mama tried to pose us for our annual Easter photo with us holding our baskets. She couldn’t snap the shutter on her Brownie before I ruined the image. After a bit of a skuffle, we shed our baskets and she caught this image. My sister, the one who looks like she could wring my neck, had just tried to explain to me why I shouldn’t toss my eggs out on the sidewalk. I think I was lucky to be a younger sister.

May Easter joy be yours.

