Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
Security is mostly a superstition.
It does not exist in nature.
[Helen Keller]

noro_sock

(This was first posted in April when I began these socks. This is an update.) I realize that this doesn’t look daring, but it really is. First, I’m usually compulsive about knitting a pair of socks where the color repeats match. With these, I’m pulling one strand from the inside and the other from the outside. The order of the color repeats won’t match. Second, I habitually knit socks on 5-needle sock sets. I saw a knitter making two socks at a time on circular needles and decided to try something new.

There are days when a person can dare big stuff like learning inline skating or surf boarding. Then there are days when little changes in habitual patterns are personal wins. I’ve discovered that even little dares to change can alter my perception of the world around me.

I can think of at least two positive aspects of this project. When I finish, both socks will be done—no second-sock syndrome. Also, someone will like the color differences. I can carry them around with me until someone says, “I just love those socks,” and then I can give them away.

UPDATE: I’ve finished the socks. I have knitted socks that I like better but these will do Okay. I prefer a smooth, plied yarn instead of this mono spun, nubby yarn. I also prefer a less scratchy feel to the yarn. If I knit with this colorway again, I’d try to match the color changes instead of flipping them. Also, when there is such a long color change, it would be convenient if the yarn company would include a few extra yards. I almost ran out of yarn.

