Christmas, my child, is love in action.
Every time we love, every time we give.
It’s Christmas.
[Dale Evans Rogers]

Whatever holiday you celebrate this time of year, I wish you the very best—a time full of love.

I celebrate Christmas and have learned over the years how to fill it with love. One Christmas over forty years ago, I felt sorry for myself.  I was stationed at a Navy hospital a thousand miles from home and assigned to work Christmas day. I nursed my self pity through part of my shift until it dawned on me that my attitude influenced the folks around me. They deserved better. It didn’t take a Charles Dickens ghost to jar me loose. I got the message and hunted ways to do something special for each person on my ward. By the middle of the afternoon, we were all feeling better and sharing memories with each other. About then, one of the patient’s mothers brought us a party in big baskets and bags. I shall never forget standing there with a mouth full of cookies thinking that self pity is a person’s worst enemy.

I have filled the Christmas socks (Santa lives at my house so really smart folks hang their socks here–there are six socks hanging). I’ve also gathered in the last bit of food for tomorrow’s brunch and run the vacuum. I have Christmas songs playing on my iPod, a warm dog on my lap, snow out the window, a pretty Christmas tree to look at, and knitting to do. Life is good.

My warmest wishes for your happiness,

KMM

